DGA nominations go to familiar faces

DGA nominations go to familiar faces

Story by Susan King , Los Angeles Times - Jan 9 2012 - 4:36pm
Woody Allen, in a photo courtesy Colin Swan

Group: 2011 movie awards

LOS ANGELES -- There's only one newcomer to the feature film nominees announced Monday for the 64th annual DGA Awards: Michel Hazanavicius for "The Artist."

Not only is it the 44-year-old French filmmaker's first nomination from the Directors Guild of America, it also is the first time that guild has nominated a silent film in the feature category.

Earning his fifth DGA nomination is Woody Allen, 76, for the comedy "Midnight in Paris." He won the top DGA Award 34 years ago for "Annie Hall." He was also nominated for 1979's "Manhattan," 1986's "Hannah and Her Sisters" and 1989's "Crime and Misdemeanors." He also earned a DGA Lifetime Achievement honor in 1996.

David Fincher, 49, picked up his third DGA feature nomination for the thriller "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo." He earned his first feature nod three years ago for "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" and last year for "The Social Network." He won the DGA Commercial Award in 2003 and was also nominated in that category four years ago.

Alexander Payne, 50, earned his second DGA feature nomination for the family drama "The Descendants." He was previously nominated for 2004's "Sidewalks."

Rounding out the five nominees is Martin Scorsese, 69, for his valentine to the movies, "Hugo." He won the DGA Award for feature films five years ago for "The Departed" and in the TV category last year for "Boardwalk Empire." "Hugo" marks his ninth DGA Award nomination. In 1999, he was given the Filmmaker Award at the first DGA honors gala and was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003.

"I am honored to have been recognized by my peers for my work on "Hugo," Scorsese said in a statement. "It means a great deal to me to have the respect of my peers. The fact that our picture honors the work of Georges Melies, one of the inventors of cinema and an artistic forefather to us all, makes the nomination all the more meaningful."

Notably missing from the list of nominees are Steven Spielberg for "War Horse" and Terrence Malick for "The Tree of Life." Malick won the National Society of Film Critics Award for his direction this past Saturday.

The DGA Awards are considered one of the most reliable bellwethers for the best director Oscar: Only six times have the guild and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences disagreed on a year's best director of a feature film. The last time was nine years ago when Rob Marshall won the DGA for "Chicago" and Roman Polanski received the Academy Award for "The Pianist."

The DGA Awards will be handed out Jan. 28 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Kelsey Grammer will be the host.

* * *

Last week in the Writers Guild of America awards, Woody Allen earned his 20th nomination for the WGA Award for best original screenplay for "Midnight in Paris."

Allen, 76, received his first nomination from the WGA 46 years ago for "What's New Pussycat?" and won for 1977's "Annie Hall," 1984's "Broadway Danny Rose," 1986's "Hannah and Her Sisters" and 1989's "Crimes and Misdemeanors."

Joining Allen in the original screenplay category are Will Reiser for "50/50"; Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig for "Bridesmaids"; Diablo Cody for "Young Adult"; and Tom McCarthy for "Win Win" (McCarthy shares story credit on the film with Joe Tiboni).

Adapted screenplay nominees are Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash for "The Descendants," based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming; "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," screenplay by Steve Zaillian based on the novel by Stieg Larsson; Tate Taylor for "The Help," based on the novel by Kathryn Stockett; John Logan for "Hugo," based on the book "The Invention of Hugo Cabret" by Brian Selznick; and Steve Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin for "Moneyball," based on the story by Stan Chevrin and based on the book by Michael Lewis.

Nominees were also announced in documentary screenplay. They are: "Better This World," written by Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega; "If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front," written by Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek; "Nostalgia for the Light," written by Patricio Guzman; "Pina," screenplay by Wim Wenders; "Position Among the Stars," script by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich; "Senna," written by Manish Pandey.

The winners will be announced at the Writers Guild Awards Feb. 19 at simultaneous ceremonies in Hollywood and New York.

blog comments powered by Disqus